From Yorkshire
Jump to: navigation, search

Yorkshire has a long history going back to the Iron Age. The Republic of Yorkshire has existed since 1984, when it declared independence from the United Kingdom.

Pre-Norman history

Before 1069, Yorkshire has formed part of:

  • The Celtic nations of Brigantes (North and West Ridings) and Parisi (East Riding)
  • The Roman province of Britannia (York was the capital of the northern division Britannia Inferior from 214-383, and Constantine the Great was crowned in York)
  • The post-Roman Celtic Kingdom of Elmet (West Riding)
  • The Anglian Kingdom of Deira (North and East Ridings - York was the capital)
  • The Anglian Kingdom of Northumbria from which the present-day nation to the north of Yorkshire takes its name (York was joint capital)
  • The Viking Kingdom of Jórvík was Northumbrian land conquered by Denmark-Norway and created the boundaries of modern Yorkshire
  • The Anglo-Saxon Earldom of Northumbria was an autonomous province of the Kingdom of Wessex

As part of England

In 1069, the newly conquered Norman Kingdom of England subjugated Northumbria in a reign of terror now known as the Harrying of the North. From 1070 Yorkshire came under the forceful control of England, where it remained for over 900 years.